GST State Code

gst state code

GST State Code

While getting your business entity registered on the GST portal, there will be a temporary GST number and then after 7 working days, a permanent GST number will be allotted to you, given that all your documents have been approved. The GST number is of extreme importance and is to be mentioned on all invoices that you receive or submit.

Without the GSTIN, no business entity can conduct business and tax suppliers on the name of GST. A business is recognized through the GSTIN and helps the supplier to know whether whoever they are transacting with is registered on the portal and if the details mentioned are correct.

While it may seem that the GSTIN is a random digit code or number, it is actually meticulously prepared and each digit/alphabet has a meaning. The first two digits of your GSTIN are based on where your business is located and in which state is the place of supply.

How to identify the GST State Code and what are the state codes for different states in India?

Every state has been assigned a code for it to become easier and detectable to know where the taxpayer/business entity is from. For example, if your GST Number is 22AAAAA0000B1Z5 the number 22 is the state code and represents the state of Chattisgarh. One can easily recognize the state or location of the business of the taxpayer through the GST number.

If you are a foreign entity conducting business in India, then registration on the GST portal is mandatory; however the tax identification of the country your business is located in needs to be provided which will then be used as the official number on all your invoices.

Below is the list of the GST State Code and the number allotted to each state based on the 2011 Indian Census.

State Name TIN Number State Code
Andaman and Nicobar Islands 35 AN
Andhra Pradesh 37 AD
Arunachal Pradesh 12 AR
Assam 18 AS
Bihar 10 BR
Chandigarh 4 CH
Chattisgarh 22 CG
Dadra and Nagar Haveli 26 DN
Daman and Diu 25 DD
Delhi 7 DL
Goa 30 GA
Gujarat 24 GJ
Haryana 6 HR
Himachal Pradesh 2 HP
Jammu and Kashmir 1 JK
Jharkhand 20 JH
Karnataka 29 KA
Kerala 32 KL
Lakshadweep Islands 31 LD
Madhya Pradesh 23 MP
Maharashtra 27 MH
Manipur 14 MN
Meghalaya 17 ML
Mizoram 15 MZ
Nagaland 13 NL
Odisha 21 OD
Pondicherry 34 PY
Punjab 3 PB
Rajasthan 8 RJ
Sikkim 11 SK
Tamil Nadu 33 TN
Telangana 36 TS
Tripura 16 TR
Uttar Pradesh 9 UP
Uttarakhand 5 UK
West Bengal 19 WB

GST Jurisdiction

Every taxpayer who is registering themselves on the GST Portal is required to fill in details about their GST jurisdiction as well. The process to find your jurisdiction is now quite easy and a step by step process is provided by the GST portal. Follow the steps mentioned below to know how to find your GST Jurisdiction

On the CBEC Website

Before you register on the GST portal and are confused about which jurisdiction the taxpayer/business entity falls under, you can follow these steps to know the jurisdiction.

    • Select the state your business is located in
  • Select the zone you are situated in and then click on the expand all option

Here the entire commissionerate  list expands in Division and Range and lets you know under which jurisdiction you fall

On the GST portal upon completion of registration

    • Go to search, taxpayers option and enter your GSTIN
    • Here you will be provided with all your details along with central and state jurisdiction
  • The jurisdiction shown in the color Red is the actual jurisdiction of the taxpayer/business entity

State Jurisdiction:

  • For determining the State jurisdiction of the department, the Taxpayers have to refer their respective State Vat/Sales tax website for searching ward and circle.

Central Jurisdiction:

  • Central jurisdiction is itself covered under CBIC Portal of GST. So, the above process may also be followed to determine the applicability of central jurisdiction.

No Comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.